Read Seeds of Rebellion Online

Authors: Brandon Mull

Seeds of Rebellion

BOOK: Seeds of Rebellion
5.7Mb size Format: txt, pdf, ePub


“Brandon Mull is a wizard with words. With Beyonders, he has conjured one of the most original fantasies I’ve read in years—an irresistible mix of adventure, humor, and magic.”


author of the Percy Jackson series, on
A World Without Heroes

“The Fablehaven books … kept me turning the pages until 4:40 in the morning. Each book was better than the last!”


author of the Eragon series, on Fablehaven

“Like Harry Potter, Fablehaven looks like a book for kids, but, like Harry Potter, Fablehaven can be read aloud in a family with as much pleasure for grown-ups as for children.”


author of
Ender’s Game
on Fablehaven


needs to find a way back to Lyrian. Rachel remains stranded there, and Jason has precious information that the friends he left behind must learn in order to have any hope of surviving and defeating the evil emperor Maldor.

When he finally succeeds in returning to the strange and imperiled world, Jason immediately finds himself in more danger than ever as the most wanted fugitive on the continent. Meanwhile, Rachel has begun to discover new abilities of her own that may prove vital against Maldor’s tyranny.

In the aftermath of a failed quest, a new mission arises—to assemble the remaining heroes of Lyrian. Can the necessary allies be convinced before the emperor crushes the young uprising? Jason, Rachel, and their band of battered heroes will face new enemies and demanding obstacles as they strive to launch a desperate rebellion. Don’t miss the second book in Brandon Mull’s #1
New York Times
bestselling saga.

A Junior Library Guild Selection


is the author of the Beyonders series, as well as the
New York Times
USA Today
Wall Street Journal
bestselling Fablehaven series. He resides in Utah, in a happy little valley near the mouth of a canyon, with his wife and four children. Brandon’s greatest regret is that he has but one life to give for Gondor.


Jacket design by Lisa Vega

Jacket illustration © 2012 by Jason Chan

Author photograph by Laura Hanifin copyright © 2012

by Simon & Schuster, Inc.


Simon & Schuster, New York

Meet the author,
watch videos, and get extras at





Also by Brandon Mull


A World Without Heroes



Rise of the Evening Star

Grip of the Shadow Plague

Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary

Keys to the Demon Prison

This book is a work of fiction. Any references to historical events, real people, or real locales are used fictitiously. Other names, characters, places, and incidents are the product of the author’s imagination, and any resemblance to actual events or locales or persons, living or dead, is entirely coincidental.

An imprint of Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing Division

1230 Avenue of the Americas, New York, NY 10020

First Aladdin hardcover edition March 2012

Copyright © 2012 by Brandon Mull

All rights reserved, including the right of reproduction in whole or in part in any form.

ALADDIN is a trademark of Simon & Schuster, Inc., and related logo is a registered trademark of Simon & Schuster, Inc.

The Simon & Schuster Speakers Bureau can bring authors to your live event. For more information or to book an event contact the Simon & Schuster Speakers Bureau at 1-866-248-3049 or visit our website at

Designed by Lisa Vega

The text of this book was set in Goudy Oldstyle Std.

This book has been cataloged with the Library of Congress.

ISBN 978-1-4169-9794-8

ISBN 978-1-4169-9799-3 (eBook)

To Simon Lipskar and Liesa Abrams, thanks for watching over Lyrian.


Prologue: A Prophecy Uttered

Chapter 1: The Return

Chapter 2: Giants

Chapter 3: A Shadowy Companion

Chapter 4: Charm Woman

Chapter 5: Lurker

Chapter 6: Aram

Chapter 7: Moira

Chapter 8: Evasion

Chapter 9: Smuggled

Chapter 10: Flight

Chapter 11: Fortaim

Chapter 12: Rendezvous

Chapter 13: Hunted

Chapter 14: Grullions

Chapter 15: The Drowned City

Chapter 16: Globes and Mushrooms

Chapter 17: West Gate

Chapter 18: The Seven Vales

Chapter 19: The Conclave

Chapter 20: The Delegation

Chapter 21: Howling Notch

Chapter 22: The Forsaken Kingdom

Chapter 23: The Sentinels

Chapter 24: The Wild Clan

Chapter 25: The Last Inn

Chapter 26: Foreign Eyes

Chapter 27: The Oracle

Chapter 28: The Prophecy


Author’s Note: What does the Future Hold?

Bonus Scenes: Oracular Interviews

“As maps of Lyrian can be difficult to procure, not all features are precisely to scale.”—Cartographer unknown


BOOK: Seeds of Rebellion
5.7Mb size Format: txt, pdf, ePub

Other books

El Extraño by Col Buchanan
Sucker Bet by Erin McCarthy
The Forbidden Lord by Sabrina Jeffries
LaRose by Louise Erdrich
Night Thunder by Jill Gregory
Flinx in Flux by Alan Dean Foster
Wolf Block by Stuart J. Whitmore